Cherry & Peach Cobbler

I know it’s not quite the right season for cherries or peaches, but I felt that I should share a recipe to welcome The Silver Mandolin to Queen of Mayhem. Some of you may know that The Silver Mandoline is my poorly maintained cooking blog. I started on it a few years ago but quickly got fixated on Queen of Mayhem. While The Silver Mandoline has somewhat gone to ruins, I still find people posting comments on it. Thus, I’ve decided to post recipes and foodie delights on Queen of Mayhem. I’m not going to take down The Silver Mandoline all together, so you can still look at old recipes on there. Feel free to browse, and be sure to enjoy the recipe below!

Cherry & Peach Cobbler

Yummm… This recipe is SO easy and SO good! You can also substitute the 3 pounds of cherries with 3 pints of blueberries. Don’t forget to wash your fruit. To anyone who needs metric units, I have the units converted so you can simply email me for them. 🙂

3 pounds cherries
2 T lemon zest
2 lbs peaches, peeled & sliced into ¼ inch wedges
¼ C brown Sugar

1 ½ sticks sweet butter, cold
¾ t salt
¾ C sugar
1 ½ C flour
2 t baking powder
½ C buttermilk
1 egg

Preheat oven to 400° F.

Combine pitted and halved with lemon zest & set aside. Sprinkle peaches with brown sugar and set aside.

Slice butter into ¼” pats and place in large bowl. Add salt, sugar, flour, baking pwder. Using pastry knife, combine ingredients until mixture resembles course corn meal. Make well in middle of flour and butter mixture and add buttermilk & egg. Stir.

In 9×13” baking dish, spread layer of about half of the cherries. Cover with peaches. Top with remaining cherries. Using a rubber spatula, dab the cobbler dough on top, smoothing as much as possible. Bake 40 minutes until fruit is bubbling and crust in gold.

4 responses to “Cherry & Peach Cobbler

  1. Looks yummy! FYI – I would def go up a size in that dress – esp. if you are using a woven and not a knit. I wrote a bunch of posts about the Drape Drape Gather No. 3 – which I learned so much from but, in the end, was not meant to be on my body shape at this time with my sewing experience level. I think the hardest thing to fit is the chest. If you're above a B cup it's, size depending, going to be tight – and doing an FBA on it takes a freakin' PhD. 🙂 The easiest area is the hips because the gathers give a tulip shape with hip ease. Hope that gives you a bit more info to work with. K-Line

  2. Thanks for the yummy recipe- I know it's hard to keep up more than one blog. One of them always become a priority over the other.

    Also, that last post was awesome, I love the fake hand thing. That was good on the stylists part.

    Love the blog.

Leave a Reply

