Modern Cave Woman

I will spare my reasons for another post because I do not feel ready to put them down in e-ink yet. Nevertheless, it’s been an interesting past seven months, and while the journey has just begun, I am about to start a new 21 day journey into the Paleo world. Yes, that’s right, I’m going to eat like a man from the Paleolithic era for 21 days. Go ahead, denounce it and call me crazy.

It’s going to a a crazy and probably emotionally laced journey in which I try to resist all the things I’ve grown to love (maybe too much). Those things would be all common carbs, legumes, sugar, and dairy products. What does that leave me with? Lots of meat, seafood, eggs, and green things. Goodbye delicious Thai food and Dim Sum (which I have ironically set up a mass group meeting for tomorrow morning– to torture myself), hello bacon.

Before you totally decide I’m off my rocker, let me leave you with an awesome paleo recipe for Brussels sprouts.

Brussels Sprouts & Bacon

1 lb Brussels sprouts
1/2 large onion (white is what I used)
4 strips thick cut smoked bacon
1-2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
salt & pepper

Take your sprouts and cut the large ones in half and leave the small ones in tact. Steam your sprouts lightly. Take a pan and cook your bacon in it. Once it has turned brow but is not yet crispy, remove it from the pan (do NOT discard the oil) and cut it into small pieces. Finely chop the onion and add it to the bacon oil pan. Cook on medium heat until the onions turn translucent. Add the sprouts, salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes. When the sprouts are warm and slightly golden add the bacon, stir, and you’re done!

Yum. One thing Paleo does is let you eat tons of animal fat. It sounds counter intuitive but you’ll just have to read up on it to discover why it works!

One response to “Modern Cave Woman

Leave a Reply

