Hello, Asheville.

Pionono: one of the signature dishes at Chorizo Latin Fare

After visiting the Biltmore, I continued my western North Carolina adventure in Asheville, NC. Asheville reminds me of the town I grew up in. It’s far more blatantly artsy than Charlotte and boasts of way too many delicious looking restaurants and tarot reading shops. Just about every cafe, bar, and restaurant has been thoroughly soaked in the music scene. I did not have much time to spend in Asheville, however, I did grab some Latin fare.


Chorizo Latin Fare • Asheville, NC


Rating: 4/5

Points: Fresh food and great atmosphere

Cons: I was really thirsty about an hour after I ate there

Chorizo was fabulous. I got to sit outside on the sidewalk and soak in the vibrant culture of Asheville. I got to see what I presume was a party bus, rolling up the street with a clown chasing the bus on foot. The food was extremely fresh and I got to have the most interesting take of nachos I’ve ever had: a fried chip bowl with grilled chicken, guacamole, salsa, cheese, and a fried egg on top. Yum. Chorizo makes a house smokey hot sauce that is to die for. It was generously applied to the nachos. Next up was the Pionono– coffee marinated pulled pork over a bed of fried plantains and spinach, coconut infused rice, black beans, and a side salad. Of course, we can’t forget the cheese. I was far too stuffed for dessert or one of the interesting drinks on their menu, but I guess that means I’ll just have to go back. 🙂

Nachos: not your standard nacho plate bowl
One response to “Hello, Asheville.

Leave a Reply

