Black Mountain

Apple-Walnut Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Before heading over to the Biltmore Estate I stopped in Black Mountain, NC for some German food. Black Mountain is a charming little town nestled in the mountains. It almost felt like Woodstock, NY to me. There were a couple cute shops filled with American crafts and a multitude of yummy looking cafes.


Berliner Kindl German Restaurant • Black Mountain, NC


Rating: 3.75/5

Points: Great sausage, German groceries for sale, CAKE, beer!

Cons: Spätzle wasn’t the typical fare I was used to

Berliner Kindl is a straight up home-grown restaurant. I was really excited to fill my stomach with spätzle because I rarely get to have it. When it came out, it was not at all the typical spätzle I was used to getting in Germany. Instead of being pea-shaped it came out more like short noodles. I decided that it was a regional thing and stuffed myself with it anyway (It turns out it was commercially prepared spätzle). The sausage they served was amazing but the dill speckled potato salad was lacking for me. I liked, but did not love the kraut. At this point I was completely stuffed; at this point the waitress let me know that desserts they had. I couldn’t resist the Apple-Walnut Cake which turned out to be more like an apple version of a carrot cake. This was the best decision I made (food-wise) all day. The cake was moist, dense, and simply amazing. I would love to try some of their other desserts.


Leave a Reply

