Shashouka for Breakfast

I have a confession that is probably not news to you: I’m a serious food whore. I grew up in a family that ate and cooked everything from your standard American meatloaf to chicken feet. Yep, chicken feet. I blame all of this on my half-Asian upbringing but really know that I just have a problem. So here comes the touche topic of the amazing combination of meat and cheese. I’m talking German sausage with a side of cheesy spaetzle, ham and Gruyere on a baguette… I digress, and it goes on. While I love my meat and cheese, it’s not exactly Kosher. Which obviously presents a problem for all food things of Israeli origin, except the food is so good that I honestly don’t care there is no meat and cheese hand-holding.

There is an amazing Israeli cafe in my town called the Art Cafe that makes all sorts of desirable baked goods, has delicious coffee, and Israeli staples such as malawach, shashouka, and borekas. I could literally eat at the Art Cafe every day but my bank account would cry, so this morning I decided to make my own shashouka (poached eggs in a spicy tomato sauce) for breakfast. It turned out wonderfully and was surprisingly easy to make!


Shashouka


Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1/4 cup olive oil
3 jalapeños, stemmed, seeded, and finely chopped (you really need to test the spiciness of the peppers to know how many you will need)
1 medium purple, chopped
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon paprika
6-8 medium tomatoes (you can use a big can of tomatoes too, but I prefer the fresh stuff)
6 eggs
1/3 cup feta cheese, crumbled
1 tablespoon chopped flat-leaf parsley

Heat oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Add chiles and onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden brown. Add garlic, cumin, and paprika, and cook, stirring frequently, until garlic is soft.

Slice up the tomatoes and crush them into the skillet. Be sure to add their juice too! Add 1/2 cup water to the pan, reduce heat to medium, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until slightly thickened, about 15 minutes or so.

Crack eggs over sauce so that eggs are evenly distributed across sauce’s surface. Cover skillet and cook until yolks are just set, about 5 minutes. Using a spoon, baste the whites of the eggs with tomato mixture, being careful not to disturb the yolk. Sprinkle shakshouka with feta and parsley.


You can choose to add salt, however, I tend to shy away from salt especially when there is super salty feta in the dish already. You can serve this dish with warm pita too!

I’m really amazed that I let myself five seconds to photograph this dish. I was so eager to dig in because it smelled AMAZING. Apologies for the crappy photography, my stomach knows no restraint. Let me know what you think of this dish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

