Blue Corn Pancakes (Gluten Free)

Blue corn is amazing. I personally love the nutty, wholesome taste of cornbread; but am also a sucker for fluffy breakfast pancakes. When you combine the two and use blue corn flour, the ultimate breakfast food is created. Yum! I decided to start making this pancake batter at 1 AM on three hours of sleep over two days (no joke). I cooked these suckers up in the morning and the result was out-of-this-world. If I can make these pancakes in the state I did, I’m pretty sure the recipe is fool-proof.

One thing to note is that the batter (yes, I am a total batter whore when it comes to cooking) tasted pretty bitter. But the result once cooked was outstanding. So have no fear! I made these pancakes gluten free by using brown rice flour but you can easily substitute the brown rice flour for all purpose flour. Some of the flours could be hard to find in smaller grocery stores so I’ve linked the flours in the recipe. I also doubled the recipe and modified it because I knew I’d be eating way too many and feeding a few hungry bellies.


Blue Corn Pancakes (Gluten Free)


2 1/4 cups blue cornmeal
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons white sugar*
2 cups boiling water
2 large eggs, beaten
1 cup milk
4 tablespoons butter, melted
3/4 cup brown rice flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
In a bowl, mix the blue corn flour, salt, and sugar. Stir in the boiling water and let mixture sit for a few minutes. Stir until free of clumps.

In another bowl, combine the eggs, milk, and melted butter. Add to the blue corn mixture and combine. Add the brown rice flour and baking powder and stir until smooth.

At this point I decided to get some sleep and covered my batter and refrigerated over night. If you don’t want to save your batter, you can go ahead and heat up a skillet with butter cook until golden on each side. Yum!

*You can substitute the white sugar for maple syrup or honey. Learn how to substitute for sugar here.



If you decide to make these pancakes, and I suggest you do because they are simply amazing, you will have to let me know how they turn out! I ended up eating these later in the day with a sunny side egg on top and it was delicious!

One response to “Blue Corn Pancakes (Gluten Free)

Leave a Reply

