Fresh Pasta

Pasta! I eat it. I buy it. And I probably have an unhealthy relationship with it. You know, I love it more than it loves me. So, I decided to make it. I’ve made pasta from scratch before but this time I decided I would try making some and seeing if I could store the dough without it going bad. It worked with the aid of some plastic wrap, olive oil, and a refrigerator. The down side was the dough had to warm up a bit before use to regain some of its elasticity, but that’s a pretty easy problem to solve.

I rolled out the dough by hand and therefore got an arm workout that I probably really needed. Yes, it’s sad that rolling out dough for 30 minutes is something I consider a workout but I swear it was really hard on a high counter with very cold, stiff dough that I refused to let warm up because I was impatient. Anyway, the pasta tasted great and if you are fortunate enough to own a pasta roller/maker, I’d use it in a heartbeat! The thinner the dough the better. 😉


Fresh Pasta Dough


1 3/4 C all purpose flour
1 eggs, beaten
salt, just a pinch
On a board or the counter top, sift the flour and a pinch of salt into a mound. Make a well in the center and pour in the eggs. With your fingers, slowly work the egg into the dry mixture. Knead until smooth (about ten minutes). If the mixture is too wet/soft, add some flour. If too dry/firm, add some water.
Let the dough rest for about 15 minutes. You can also choose to save your dough for later in the day by wrapping it in plastic wrap lightly coated with olive oil and setting it aside. Otherwise, roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface or use a pasta machine to make a thin sheet.


Leave a Reply

