Quick Apple Turnovers

I bet you guys are tired of seeing recipes for triangle shaped carbohydrates at this point but I swear this one is stupidly fast, cheap, and amazing with all things considered. It’s just a little bit past 1 AM as a write this and a big plate of apple turnover dumpling things are hovering in my vision just over the laptop screen. This will ultimately mean disaster, but presently means I’ve been good enough to resist eating all of them already. I’m so ready to pop one of those babies in the toaster tomorrow morning. Sinful.

Earlier this evening I came home craving apple pie. Pies are sort of messy to make, plus I didn’t want to be tempted to eat the whole pie so I reluctantly vetoed that idea and moved onto apple dumplings. Apple dumplings are awesome but as I started rummaging through the fridge looking for ingredients I spotted a roll of crescent rolls. Yep, that’s right, those delicious, fattening, fake doughy air things. Bingo! The light went off in my head, instead of making full on apple dumpling dough, I’d wrap the apples in crescent roll dough. Wrong.

What I ultimately ended up doing was going to be way faster to bake: dice an apple, add some stuff, make a crescent roll dumpling sandwich thing. Bake. Amazing. I might be a genius… or I might just be a gigantic food whore.


Quick Apple Turnovers


Yields 4 turnovers
Preheat oven to 375°F

1 crescent roll package
1 medium apple
1 tsp cinnamon
1 Tbsp honey

Dice apple into 1/4 inch cubes. In a bowl, combine apples, cinnamon, and honey. On an ungreased baking sheet, lay out four of the eight triangles of the crescent roll dough. Scoop the apple mixture onto the triangles, place a remaining triangle on top of each of the prepared triangles. Seal the sides by pressing them together with your fingers and stamping with a fork.

Place in the oven on a center rack for 11 minutes or until golden brown. Serve hot or toast tomorrow.


Fun fact: the grand total price of these was about $3. And the time they took to make from start to consumption was about 20 minutes. There’s a hash tag for that and it’s “#winning”.



I’m really still unsure of what to call these apple delights. Maybe just apple delight but I’ve definitely run though the gamut:

Apple ______

  1. Hot Pocket
  2. Turnover
  3. Ghetto Dumpling
  4. Dough Triangle
  5. Wedges
  6. Poptart Triangle
  7. Delight
  8. Sandwich

Yeah, I clearly did not stop while I was ahead. Call them what you want.

Leave a Reply

