Chewy Ginger Cookies

Can you guys tell that I have a baking problem yet? I really do. After not having a kitchen to really use for over a year I tell myself that I’m making up for it now. Anyway, this will be a short and not-too-sweet post about some delicious ginger cookies. They stay chewy and aren’t overly sweet. I’d recommend them for the holidays… or if you’re a spiced cookie fiend.


Chewy Ginger Cookies


Preheat oven to 350°F

3/4 C butter, softened
1/4 C granulated white sugar
1 large egg
1/2 C molasses
2 1/4 C flour
2-3 Tbsp ground ginger
2-3 Tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp cracked black pepper
1 tsp baking powder

Cream the butter with the sugar in a large bowl. Beat in the egg and then the molasses. Sift the dry ingredients into the butter mixture. I would taste the dough at this point and probably add more spice than I listed here because I actually like spicy cookies. Note that you can also add more granulated sugar into the butter. I don’t like overly sweet cookies and I felt like the molasses did the trick. Everyone agreed they were perfect but it’s up to you! 🙂

In your palms, roll balls just smaller than a ping pong and slightly flatten (about 1/2 to 1/3 inch thickness) onto an ungreased cookie sheet. You can sprinkle the cookies with coconut or even roll in sugar and cinnamon like a snickerdoodle. Pop in the oven for 10 minutes and consume hot with milk or the next day with whipped cream and ice cream. I’m already salivating.


If you want to try rolling these cookies out and using cookie cutters, I suggest you chill the dough for an hour or so because it’s quite soft.

Leave a Reply

