DIY Popover Top

Popover tops have been all over the runways as of late. From Thakoon to Marni this 80s inspired trend has come back in just about every variation you can think of. Simple jersey, mesh cutouts, metallics, crazy prints, textures… the list goes on. The great thing about these tops is that you can literally just pop them over any bottom separate to make an outfit. Amazing. Clean lines are pretty much orgasmic for me so naturally I had to do a popover top DIY.

I had originally thought to replicate a Markus Lupfer grey jersey/lilac-metallic top (below) but ultimately decided to make it out of fabric I already had! The thick spandex paired with a neon silky print reminded me of beach so I ended up adding to wetsuit-like stitch details. Please ignore how tired I look! I might have stayed up out of excitement of sewing this piece…


Here are some inspirational pieces that I worked from to achieve the silhouette. I’m sure you could dream up a million more variations.  

I will be posting a pattern to make this from some time soon (I promise)! I’m hoping to eventually make a whole section of patterns that you can browse through, download, and make so stay tuned!  I really liked the idea of being able to make this top ASAP and couldn’t wait to go get a zipper so I could use non-stretch fabric but am toying with the idea of making this top in leather, in which case you will get a pattern drafted for non-stretch fabric. 🙂



What other DIYs or patterns would you like to see? Leave me a comment below and let me know!

Remember to follow me on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram to see what projects I’m up to!

Leave a Reply

